Progress since mapping

9 Nov

I thought it was high time for me to update the blog again with my progress since my first mapping session. I’ve spent the last few weeks just practicing listening and learning to use the implant and it’s been pretty amazing to be honest.
I’ll break down the things I’ve been hearing, into a list to keep things clear.

Environmental sounds:
When I’m out and about, I’m able to hear a lot more of the sounds around me. I can hear traffic, birds singing and people talking nearby among other things. I can also make out many of the announcements at the train station/when I’m on a train.

People talking:
I mentioned last time that I’ve been able to hear people talking much more clearly than when I had my hearing aid in that ear, and this has continued. It is particularly nice when I’m able to hear a voice that I previously struggled with. I’ve also been able to hear staff in shops/doctors receptionists etc. I’ve been out for a number of meals out with Victoria and these have been good practices. In the past, the only way I could hear Victoria in a restaurant was if she sat right next to me and yelled at me! 😉 Now, however, she is able to sit opposite me. It’s been a case of experimenting with the various settings I have to find the best one for noisier situations. I found the ‘zoom’ setting was great for the restaurant as it concentrates the microphone on sounds coming from in front of me, lowering the sounds behind me. The next big test will be to see how I get on when I’ve out with more than one person—that’ll be more challenging I think.

Listening with the ComPilot:
Previously I’ve talked about the Phonak ComPilot which connects to Bluetooth compatible devices and transmits the sound direct to the implant. I’ve been using this to listen to the radio via my phone and to audio books either on my phone or laptop. This has been great—It’s wonderful to just be able to listen to something without it being a struggle. I’ve been listening to a lot of talk radio to hear lots of different voices and subjects. I enjoy it, but the downside is that I am a bit bored of hearing ‘Dave from London’ ringing up to moan about immigration and to urge us to vote UKIP at the next election! Think of it as ‘Daily Mail radio’! I’ve also been listening to a lot of football commentaries and whereas previously I often couldn’t make out the commentators voice above the crowd noise, I can now easily hear almost every word.

Listening to the TV:
This is the latest thing I’ve been trying out. I recently purchased an accessory called TVLink (early Xmas present from my mum- thanks mum!) which again, is made by those clever folks at Phonak. For anyone interested, here is the link:
http://www.connevans.co.uk/product/4177263/3PATVLINKS/Phonak-TVLink-S

The TVLink plugs in to the back of your TV and transmits the sound to the ComPilot which I’m wearing, enabling me to have the TV sound direct to the implant! Before the implant, it wasn’t possible for me to hear the TV, even when the volume was turned up, so being able to listen again is pretty cool. I’m never going to be a couch potato watching hours of mindless cooking programmes etc, but it’s nice to be able to watch stuff if I want to. Last weekend, I watched X-Factor for the first time in years. Now, I’m unsure whether the terrible singing was due to my implant, or because they are all tone-deaf cretins… I’m guessing it is the latter!

I’ll blog again soon (no really I will) to update you on my second mapping session which took place last week.

2 Responses to “Progress since mapping”

  1. Katherine C November 21, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    Sounds great Steven. I’d be interested to hear more about your experiences with TVLink and what benefits it provides in addition to ComPilot and different from ComPilot? I’ve thought about getting both. Wishing you continued good luck in learning to hear with your new Naida!

    • cardiffsam November 22, 2013 at 10:28 am #

      Hi Katherine. If you want to use TvLink, you need ComPilot I think. The TVLink sends the signal to the ComPilot which you ware around your neck and then the sound goes direct to the implant. In terms of sound, its really good, the sound generally through ComPilot is great– whether I’m connected to my phone, laptop or TVLink.

Leave a comment